The Republic of Zambia is a landlocked country in Southern Africa. The neighbouring countries are the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the north, Tanzania to the north-east, Malawi to the east, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, and Namibia to the south, and Angola to the west.

Official Name: Republic of Zambia

Short Form: Zambia

Country Calling Code: +260

Capital City: Lusaka (pop. approx. 1 million)

Other Cities: Kitwe, Ndola, Livingstone, Kabwe.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 24 October 1964 (from UK).

Nationality: Zambian(s).

Population: 13 million (2010 census).

Ethnic groups: More than 70 ethnic groups. Main tribes are the Lozi, the Bemba, the Ngoni, the Tonga, the Luda, the Luvale and the Kaonde.

Religions: Christian, indigenous beliefs, Muslim, Hindu.

Languages: English (official), about 70 local languages and dialects, including Bemba, Lozi, Kaonde, Lunda, Luvale, Tonga, and Nyanja.

Natural Resources: Copper, cobalt, zinc, lead, coal, emeralds, gold, silver, uranium, hydropower.

Agriculture Products: Corn, sorghum, rice, peanuts, sunflower seed, vegetables, flowers, tobacco, cotton, sugarcane, cassava (tapioca), coffee; cattle, goats, pigs, poultry, milk, eggs, hides

Industries: Copper mining and processing, construction, foodstuffs, beverages, chemicals, textiles, fertilizer, horticulture.

Currency: Zambian Kwacha (ZMK).

Source:; Zambia Profile; other.