The Republic of Uganda is a landlocked country in East Africa. It is bordered on the east by Kenya, on the north by Sudan, on the west by the Democratic Republic of the Congo, on the southwest by Rwanda, and on the south by Tanzania. The southern part of the country includes a substantial portion of Lake Victoria, within which it shares borders with Kenya and Tanzania.

Official Name: Republic of Uganda

Short Form: Uganda

Country Calling Code: +256

Capital City: Kampala (pop. 1.2 million)

Other Cities: Entebbe, Jinja, Lira, Mbale, Mbarara

Government Type: Republic

Nationality: Ugandan(s).

Population: 33 million (2011).

Ethnic groups: African 99%, European, Asian, Arab 1%.

Religions: Christian 66%, Muslim 16%, traditional and other 18%.

Languages: English (official); Luganda and Swahili widely used; other Bantu and Nilotic languages.

Natural Resources: Copper, cobalt, limestone.

Agriculture Products: Coffee, tea, cotton, tobacco, cassava (tapioca), potatoes, corn, millet, pulses; beef, goat meat, milk, poultry, cut flowers.

Industries: Sugar, brewing, tobacco, cotton textiles, cement.

Currency: Uganda Shilling (UGX).

Source:; Uganda Profile; other.