Tunisia, officially the Tunisian Republic, is a country located in North Africa. It is bordered by Algeria to the west and Libya to the southeast. It is the northernmost country on the African continent, and the smallest of the nations situated along the Atlas mountain range. Around forty percent of the country is composed of the Sahara desert, with much of the remainder consisting of particularly fertile soil and a 1300 km coastline.

Official Name: Al Jumhuriyah at Tunisiyah

International Short Form: Tunisia

Country Calling Code: +216

Capital City: Tunis

Other Cities: Sfax

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 20 March 1956 (from France)

Nationality: Tunisian(s).

Population: 10.6 million (2011)

Ethnic Groups: Arab-Berber 98%, European 1%, other 1%.

Religions: Muslim 98%, Christian 1%, Jewish less than 1%.

Languages: Arabic (official), French.

Natural Resources: Petroleum, phosphates, iron ore, lead, zinc, salt.

Agriculture Products: Olives, olive oil, grain, dairy products, tomatoes, citrus fruit, beef, sugar beets, dates, almonds.

Industries: Petroleum, mining, tourism, textiles, footwear, agribusiness, beverages.

Currency: Tunisian Dinar (TND).

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Tunisia Profile; other.