Tanzania is a country in East Africa bordered by Kenya and Uganda on the north, Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo on the west, and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique on the south. To the east it borders the Indian Ocean.

Official Name: United Republic of Tanzania

Short Form: Tanzania

Country Calling Code: +255

Capital City:Dar es Salaam (executive), Dodoma (legislative).

Other Cities: Arusha, Mwanza, Mbeya, Mtwara, Stonetown, Zanzibar

Government Type:Republic.

Independence: Tanganyika 1961 (from UK-administered UN trusteeship), Zanzibar 1963 (from UK).

Nationality: Tanzanian(s); Zanzibari(s).

Population: 43.2 million includ. Zanzibar.

Ethnic Groups: mainland – native African 99% (of which 95% are Bantu consisting of more than 130 tribes), other 1% (consisting of Asian, European, and Arab); Zanzibar – Arab, native African, mixed Arab and native African.

Religions: mainland – Christian 30%, Muslim 35%, indigenous beliefs 35%; Zanzibar – more than 99% Muslim.

Languages: Kiswahili (Swahili, Kiunguja), English (both official), Arabic (widely spoken in Zanzibar), many local languages.

Natural Resources: Hydropower, tin, phosphates, iron ore, coal, diamonds, gemstones, gold, natural gas, nickel.

Agriculture Products: Coffee, sisal, tea, cotton, pyrethrum (organic insecticide), cashew nuts, tobacco, cassava (tapioca), bananas, fruits, vegetables; livestock.

Industries: Agricultural processing (sugar, beer, cigarettes, sisal twine); diamond, gold, and iron mining, oil refining.

Currency: Tanzanian Shilling (TZS)

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Tanzania Profile; other