Somalia officially the Somali Republic is a country located in the Horn of Africa. It is bordered by Djibouti to the northwest, Kenya on its southwest, the Gulf of Aden with Yemen on its north, the Indian Ocean at its east, and Ethiopia to the west.

Official Name: The Somali Republic

Short Form: Somalia

Country Calling Code: +252

Capital City: Mogadishu

Other Cities: Baidoa, Beledweyne, Berbera, Bosasso, Gaalkayo, Hargeisa, Jowhar, Kismayo, Merca.

Government Type: Republic

Independence: July 1, 1960 (from a merger between the former Somaliland Protectorate under British rule, and Italian Somaliland, to form the Somali Republic).

Nationality: Somali(s)

Population: (2012) 9.8 million, of which an estimated 2 million live in Somaliland.

Ethnic Groups: Somali, with a small non-Somali minority (mostly Bantu and Arabs).

Religion: 99.9% Muslim.

Languages: Somali (official), Arabic, Italian, English.

Natural Resources: Uranium and largely unexploited reserves of iron ore, tin, gypsum, bauxite, copper, salt, natural gas, likely oil reserves.

Agriculture Products: Bananas, sorghum, corn, coconuts, rice, sugarcane, mangoes, sesame seeds, beans; cattle, sheep, goats; fish.

Industries: a few light industries, including sugar refining, textiles, wireless communication.

Currency: Somali Shilling (SOS)

Source:; Somalia Profile; other.