Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone, officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Guinea in the northeast, Liberia in the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean in the southwest.

Official Name: Republic of Sierra Leone

Short form: Sierra Leone

Capital City: Freetown (1 million)

Country Calling Code: +232

Other Cities: Bo, Kenema, Lungi, Makeni, Yengema

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 27 April 1961 (from Britain).

Nationality: Sierra Leonean(s).

Population: 5.4 million (2011 est.)

Ethnic Groups: Temne 30%, Mende 30%, Krio 1%, small Lebanese community.

Religions: Muslim 60%, Christian 30%, Indigenous beliefs 10%.

Languages: English (official, regular use limited to literate minority), Krio, Temne, Mende, and 15 other indigenous languages.

Natural Resources: Diamonds, gold, titanium, bauxite, iron ore, chromite.

Agriculture Products: Rice, coffee, cocoa, palm kernels, palm oil, peanuts; poultry, cattle, sheep, pigs; fish.

Industries: Diamonds mining; small-scale manufacturing (beverages, textiles, cigarettes, footwear); petroleum refining.

Currency: New Leone (SLL)

Source:; Sierra Leone Profile; other.