Seychelles officially the Republic of Seychelles is an archipelago nation of 115 islands in the Indian Ocean, some 1,500 kilometres east of mainland Africa, northeast of the island of Madagascar. Other nearby island countries and territories include Zanzibar to the west, Mauritius and Runion to the south, Comoros and Mayotte to the southwest, and the Suvadives of the Maldives to the northeast.

Official Name: The Republic of Seychelles

Short Form: Seychelles

Country Calling Code: +248

Capital City: Victoria (pop. 24 500)

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: June 29, 1976 (from UK).

Nationality: Seychellois.

Population: 91,000 (2010 census)

Ethnic Groups: Creole (European, Asian, and African).

Religions: Catholic 86.6%, Anglican Church 6.8%, other Christians 2.5%, other 4.1%.

Languages: Official languages are Seychelles Creole (kreol seselwa), English, and French.

Natural Resources: Fish, copra, cinnamon trees.

Agriculture Products: Coconuts, cinnamon, vanilla, sweet potatoes, cassava (tapioca), bananas; broiler chickens; tuna fish.

Industries: Fishing; tourism; processing of coconuts and vanilla, coir (coconut fiber) rope, boat building, printing, furniture; beverages.

Currency: Seychelles Rupee (SCR).

Source:; Seychelles Profile; other.