The Republic of Rwanda is a small landlocked country in the Great Lakes region of east-central Africa, bordered by Uganda, Burundi, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and Tanzania.

Official Name: Republika y’u Rwanda

Short Form: Rwanda

Country Calling Code: +250

Capital City: Kigali (est. pop. 850 000)

Other Cities: Gitarama, Butare, Ruhengeri, Gisenyi.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 1 July 1962 (from Belgium-administered UN trusteeship).

Nationality: Rwandan(s).

Population: 10.7 million (2011; Rwanda’s population density is among the highest in Sub-Saharan Africa).

Ethnic groups: Hutu 85%, Tutsi 14%, Twa 1%.

Religions: Christian 93.5%, traditional African 0.1%, Muslim 4.6%, 1.7% claim no religious beliefs.

Languages: French, English, Kinyarwanda.

Natural Resources: Gold, cassiterite (tin ore), wolframite (tungsten ore), methane, hydropower, arable land.

Agriculture Products: Coffee, tea, pyrethrum (insecticide made from chrysanthemums), bananas, beans, sorghum, potatoes; livestock.

Industries: Cement, agricultural products, small-scale beverages, soap, furniture, shoes, plastic goods, textiles, cigarettes.

Currency: Rwandan Franc (RWF).

Source:; Rwanda Profile; other.