Republic of the Congo

Republic of the Congo

Republic of the Congo

The Republic of the Congo, also known as Congo-Brazzaville or the Congo, is a country in Central Africa. It is bordered by Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, the Angolan exclave province of Cabinda, and the Gulf of Guinea.

Official Name: République du Congo

Short form: Congo

Country Calling Code: +242

Capital City: Brazzaville (pop. 1 million)

Other Cities: Pointe-Noire (450 000), Dolisie (150 000), Djambala, Ewo, Impfondo, Madingou, Ouésso, Owando, Sibiti.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 15 August 1960 (from France).

Nationality: Congolese

Population: 4 million (2012 UN est.)

Ethnic Groups: 15 principal Bantu groups: BaCongo, Vili, BaTeke, M’Bochi, and Sangha; more than 70 subgroups. A small population of Pygmies (less than 100 000), ethnically unrelated to the Bantu majority.

Religions: Traditional beliefs 50%, Christianity 45%, Muslim 2%.

Languages: French (official), Lingala and Munukutuba (national), Kikongo, Sangho, Lari, Vili.

Natural Resources: Oil, wood, potash, zinc, uranium, copper, phosphate, natural gas, hydropower.

Agriculture Products: Cassava (tapioca), sugar, rice, corn, peanuts, vegetables, coffee, cocoa; forest products.

Industries: Petroleum extraction, cement, lumber, brewing, sugar, palm oil, soap, flour, cigarettes.

Currency: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XAF).

Source:; Congo Profile; other.