Nigeria officially named the Federal Republic of Nigeria is a federal constitutional republic comprising thirty-six states and one Federal Capital Territory. The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north. Its coast lies on the Gulf of Guinea, part of the Atlantic Ocean, in the south.

Official Name: Federal Republic of Nigeria

Short Form: Nigeria

Country Calling Code: +234

Capital City: Abuja (pop. 1 million).

Other Cities: Lagos, Nigerias former capital (12 million), Ibadan (5 million), Kano (1 million), Enugu (500,000).

Government Type: Federal Republic.

Independence: 1 October 1960.

Nationality: Nigerian(s).

Population: 158 million (2010).

Ethnic Groups: Yoruba, Hausa, Igbo, Fulani, Efik-Ibibio, Kanuri, Tiv, Edo Ijaw and others.

Religions: Muslim, Christian, indigenous African.

Languages: English (official), Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba, others.

Natural Resources: Petroleum, natural gas, tin, columbite, iron ore, coal, limestone, lead, zinc.

Agriculture Products: Cocoa, peanuts, palm oil, corn, rice, sorghum, millet, cassava (tapioca), yams, rubber; cattle, sheep, goats, pigs; timber; fish.

Industries: Crude oil, coal, tin, columbite, palm oil, peanuts, cotton, rubber, wood, hides and skins, textiles, cement and other construction materials, food products, footwear, chemicals, fertilizer, printing, ceramics, steel.

Currency: Naira (NGN)

Source:; Nigeria Profile; other.