Niger officially the Republic of Niger is a landlocked country in Western Africa, named after the Niger River. It borders Nigeria and Benin to the south, Burkina Faso and Mali to the west, Algeria and Libya to the north and Chad to the east.

Official Name: Republique du Niger

Short Form: Niger

Country Calling Code: +227

Capital City: Niamey (pop. approx. 675 000)

Other Cities: Tahoua, Maradi, Zinder, Diffa, Dosso, Arlit, and Agadez.

Government Type:  Republic

Independence: 3 August 1960 (from France).

Nationality: Nigerien(s).

Population: 11.5 million.

Ethnic Groups: Hausa 56%, Djerma 22%, Fula 8.5%, Tuareg 8%, Beri Beri (Kanuri) 4.3%; Arab, Toubou, and Gourmantche 1.2%.

Religions: Islam (95%); indigenous beliefs and Christian.

Languages: French (official), Hausa, Djerma, Fulfulde, Kanuri, Tamachek, Toubou, Gourmantche, Arabic.

Natural Resources: Uranium, coal, iron ore, tin, phosphates, gold, petroleum.

Agriculture Products: Millet, sorghum, rice, corn, fruits, vegetables, cotton, peanuts, cassava, cowpeas.

Industries: Uranium mining, cement, brick, textiles, food processing, chemicals .

Currency: CFA Franc (XOF).

Source:; Niger Profile; other.