Mozambique officially the Republic of Mozambique is a country in southeastern Africa bordered by the Indian Ocean to the east, Tanzania to the north, Malawi and Zambia to the northwest, Zimbabwe to the west and Swaziland and South Africa to the southwest.

Official Name: República de Moçambique

International Short Form: Mozambique

Country Calling Code: +258

Capital City: Maputo (pop. 1.2 million)

Other Cities: Beira, Matola, Nampula, Quelimane, Tete, Nacala.

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 25 June 1975 (from Portugal).

Nationality: Mozambican(s).

Population 19.4 million (2005).

Ethnic groups: Makua, Tsonga, Makonde, Shangaan, Shona, Sena, Ndau, and other indigenous groups, and approximately 10,000 Europeans, 35,000 Euro-Africans, and 15,000 South Asians.

Religions: Christian 30%, Muslim 17%, indigenous African and other beliefs 45%.

Languages:Portuguese (official), various indigenous languages.

Natural Resources: Coal, titanium, natural gas, hydropower, tantalum, graphite.

Agriculture Products: Cotton, cashew nuts, sugarcane, tea, cassava (tapioca), corn, coconuts, sisal, citrus and tropical fruits, potatoes, sunflowers; beef, poultry.

Industries: Food, beverages, chemicals (fertilizer, soap, paints), aluminum, petroleum products, textiles, cement, glass, asbestos, tobacco.

Currency: Metical (MZM)

Source:; Mozambique Profile; other.