Morocco officially the Kingdom of Morocco is a country located in North Africa. It has a coast on the Atlantic Ocean that reaches past the Strait of Gibraltar into the Mediterranean Sea. Morocco has international borders with Algeria to the east, Spain to the north (a water border through the Strait and land borders with two small Spanish autonomous cities, Ceuta and Melilla), and Mauritania to the south via its Western Saharan territories.

Official Name: Al Mamlakah al-Maghribiyah

Short Form: al-Maġrib

International Short Form: Morocco

Country Calling Code: +212

Capital City: Rabat

Other Cities: Agadir, Casablanca, Fez, Marrakech, Meknes, Tangier (Tanger), Tetouan

Government Type: Constitutional Monarchy.

Independence: 2 March 1956 (from France).

Nationality: Moroccan(s).

Population: 32.5 million (2012)

Ethnic Groups: Arab, Berber, mixed Arab-Berber.

Religions: Muslim

Languages: Arabic (official), several Berber dialects; French.

Natural Resources: Phosphates, iron ore, manganese, lead, zinc, fish, salt.

Agriculture Products: Barley, wheat, citrus, wine, vegetables, olives; livestock.

Industries: Phosphate rock mining and processing, food processing, leather goods, textiles, construction, tourism.

Currency: Moroccan Dirham (MAD)

Source:; Morocco Profile; other.