Mauritius officially the Republic of Mauritius is an island nation off the coast of the African continent in the southwest Indian Ocean, about 900 kilometres east of Madagascar. In addition to the island of Mauritius, the Republic includes the islands of St. Brandon, Rodrigues and the Agalega Islands. Mauritius is part of the Mascarene Islands, with the French island of Runion 200 km to the southwest and the island of Rodrigues 570 km to the northeast.

Official Name: Republic of Mauritius

Short form: Mauritius

Country Calling Code: +230

Capital City: Port Louis (pop. 148 000)

Other Cities: Beau Bassin and Rose Hill (105 000), Vacoas-Phoenix (100 000), Curepipe (80 000), Quatre Bornes (80 000).

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 12 March 1968 ( from UK, Mauritius became a republic in 1992).

Nationality: Mauritian(s).

Population: 1.3 million (2011)

Ethnic groups: Indo-Mauritians 68%, Creoles 27%, Sino-Mauritians 3%, Franco-Mauritians 2%.

Religions: Hindu 48%, Christian 32%, Muslim.

Languages: French, English (official), Creole (common), Hindi, Urdu, Hakka, Bhojpuri.

Natural Resources: Arable land, fish.

Agriculture Products: Sugar, sugar derivatives, tea, tobacco, vegetables, fruits, flowers and fishing.

Industries: Labor-intensive goods for export, including textiles and clothing, watches and clocks, jewelry, optical goods, toys and games, and cut flowers; tourism.

Currency: Mauritian Rupee (MUR)

Source:; Mauritius Profile; other.