Mauritania officially the Islamic Republic of Mauritania is a country in northwest Africa. It is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean on the west, by Senegal on the southwest, by Mali on the east and southeast, by Algeria on the northeast, and by the Morocco-controlled Western Sahara on the northwest.

Official Name: Islamic Republic of Mauritania

Short Form: Mauritania

Country Calling Code: +222

Capital City: Nonakchott(pop. 800,000)

Other Cities: Nouadhibou (113,000), Selibaby (107,000), Kaedi (91,000), Kiffa (77,000), Rosso (63,000), Zouerate (36,000).

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: November 28, 1960 (from Fance).

Nationality: Mauritanian(s).

Population: 3.34 million (2011)

Ethnic groups: Arab-Berber (White Moor or Beydane), Arab-Berber-Negroid (Black Moor or Haritine), Haalpulaar, Soninke, Wolof.

Religion: Islam.

Languages: Arabic (official), French, Pulaar, Wolof, and Soninke.

Natural Resources: Fish, copper, iron ore, gypsum.

Agriculture Products: Dates, millet, sorghum, rice, corn, cattle, sheep.

Industries: Fish processing, mining of iron ore and gypsum.

Currency: Ouguiya (MRO) sign: UM

Source:; Mauritania Profile; other.