Libya officially the Great Socialist People’s Libyan Arab Jamahiriya is a country located in North Africa. Bordering the Mediterranean Sea to the north, Libya lies between Egypt to the east, Sudan to the southeast, Chad and Niger to the south, and Algeria and Tunisia to the west. With an area of almost 1.8 million square kilometres (700,000 sq mi), 90% of which is desert, Libya is the fourth largest country in Africa by area, and the 17th largest in the world.

Official Name: Libya

Country Calling Code: +218

Capital City: Tripoli (pop. est. 1.68 million)

Other Cities: Benghazi (pop. est. 640 000)

Government: The National Transitional Council of Libya was formed by anti-Gaddafi forces to represent Libya in the 2011 Libyan uprising.

Independence: 24 December 1951 (from UN trusteeship).

Revolution: 1 September 1969.

Nationality: Libyan(s).

Population: 6.4 million (includes 0.6 million non-nationals of sub-Saharan Africans living in Libya).

Ethnic Groups: Berber and Arab 97%; Greeks, Maltese, Italians, Egyptians, Pakistanis, Turks, Indians, and Tunisians.

Religion: Sunni Muslim 97%.

Languages: Arabic is the primary language. English, French, and Italian are understood in major cities.

Natural Resources: Petroleum, natural gas, gypsum.

Agriculture Products: Wheat, barley, olives, dates, citrus, vegetables, peanuts, soybeans; cattle.

Industries: Petroleum, iron and steel, food processing, textiles, handicrafts, cement.

Currency: Libyan Dinar (LYD)

Source:; Libya Profile; other.