Lesotho officially the Kingdom of Lesotho is a landlocked country and enclave entirely surrounded by the Republic of South Africa. Formerly Basutoland, it is a member of the Commonwealth of Nations.

Official Name: Kingdom of Lesotho

Short Form: Lesotho

Country Calling Code: +266

Capital City: Maseru (1997 pop. est. 386 000)

Other Cities: Teyateyaneng (pop. est. 240 754), Leribe (300 160), Mafeteng (211 970), Mohale’s Hoek (184 034).

Government Type: Modified constitutional monarchy.

Independence: 4 October 1966. (from 1868 until independence Lesotho was placed under British protection.)

Nationality: Noun–Mosotho (sing.); Basotho (pl.) Adjective–Basotho.

Population: 2.2 million (2010, UN estimate)

Ethnic groups: Basotho 99.7%; Europeans 1,600; Asians 3,000.

Religions: 90% Christian, including Roman Catholic (majority), Lesotho Evangelical, Anglican, other denominations.

Languages: Sesotho and English (Official). Zulu, Xhosa (Others).

Natural Resources: Water, agricultural and grazing land, some diamonds and other minerals. Lesotho is an exporter of excess labor.

Agriculture Products: Corn, wheat, pulses, sorghum, barley; livestock.

Industries: Food, beverages, textiles, apparel assembly, handicrafts; construction; tourism.

Currency: In 1980, Lesotho introduced its own currency: Loti (plural Maloti). It is equivalent to the South African Rand.

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Lesotho Profile; other.