The Republic of Kenya is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Ethiopia to the north, Somalia to the northeast, Tanzania to the south, Uganda to the west, and Sudan to the northwest, with the Indian Ocean running along the southeast border.

Official Name: Republic of Kenya

Short Form: Kenya

Country Calling Code: +254

Capital City: Nairobi (pop. 2.1 million)

Other Cities: Mombasa (665 000), Kisumu (504 000), Nakuru (1.2 million).

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 12 December 1963 (from UK).

Nationality: Kenyan(s).

Population: 38.6 million (2009 census)

Ethnic groups: African–Kikuyu 21%, Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 11%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 5%. Non-African–Asian, European, Arab 1%.

Religions: Protestant 40%, Roman Catholic 30%, Muslim 20%, indigenous beliefs 10%.

Languages: English, Swahili, more than 40 local ethnic languages.

Natural Resources: Wildlife, land.

Agriculture Products: Tea, coffee, sugarcane, horticultural products.

Industries: Small-scale consumer goods (plastic, furniture, batteries, textiles, soap, cigarettes, flour), agricultural products processing; oil refining, cement; tourism.

Currency: Kenyan Shilling (KES)

Source:; Kenya Profile; other.