Ivory Coast

Ivory Coast

Ivory Coast

Ivory Coast, officially the Republic of Cote d’Ivoire, is a country in West Africa. Ivory Coast borders Liberia and Guinea to the west, Mali and Burkina Faso to the north, Ghana to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean to the south.

Official Name: Republique du Côte d’Ivoire

Short form: Côte d’Ivoire

International Short Form: Ivory Coast

Country Calling Code: +225

Capital City: Yamoussoukro, Abidjan (the economic capital and de facto political capital)

Other Cities: Bouaké, Daloa, Gagnoa, Korhogo, Man, San Pedro.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 7 August 1960 (from France).

Nationality: Ivoirian(s).

Population: 21.4 (2009)

Ethnic groups: Akan 40%, Voltaiques (Gur) 18%, Northern Mandes 17%, Krous 11%, Southern Mandes 10%, other 3%.

Religions: Indigenous beliefs 10%-20%, Muslim 35%-40%, Christian 25%-35%.

Languages: French (official); Diula (Dioula), Baule (Baoulé), Dan, Anyin and Senari.

Natural Resources: Petroleum, natural gas, diamonds, manganese, iron ore, cobalt, bauxite, copper, gold, nickel, tantalum, silica sand, clay, cocoa beans, coffee, palm oil, hydropower.

Agriculture Products: main export goods are coffee and cocoa beans,
other products are: bananas, palm kernels, corn, rice, manioc (tapioca), sweet potatoes, sugar, cotton, rubber and timber.

Industries: Foodstuffs, beverages; wood products, oil refining, truck and bus assembly, textiles, fertilizer, building materials, electricity, ship construction and repair.

Currency: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XOF)

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Ivory Coast Profile; other.