The Republic of Guinea-Bissau is a country in western Africa and one of the smallest nations in continental Africa. It is bordered by Senegal to the north, and Guinea to the south and east, with the Atlantic Ocean to its west.

Official Name: República da Guiné-Bissau

Short Form: Guiné-Bissau

Country Calling Code: +245

Capital City: Bissan

Other Cities: Bolama (former capital of Portuguese Guinea until 1941) Bafata, Gabu, Canchungo, Farim, Cacheu.

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 24 September 1973 (proclaimed unilaterally); 10 September 1974 (de jure from Portugal).

Nationality: Bissau-Guinean(s).

Population: 1.52 million (2009 census)

Ethnic Groups: Balanta 30%, Fula 20%, Manjaca 14%, Mandinga 13%, Papel 7%, others 16%.

Religions: Indigenous beliefs 50%, Muslim 45%, Christian 5%.

Languages: Portuguese (official), Crioulo, French, many indigenous languages: Balanta-Kentohe 26%; Pulaar 18%; Mandjak 12%; Mandinka 11%; Pepel 9%; Biafada; Mancanha; Bidyogo; Ejamat; Mansoanka; Bainoukgunyuno; Nalu; Soninke; Badjara; Bayote%; Kobiana; Cassanga, Basary.

Natural Resources: Fish and timber. Deposits of bauxite and phosphate are not exploited; offshore petroleum.

Agriculture Products: Cashews, tropical fruits, rice, peanuts, cotton, palm oil.

Industries: Very little industrial capacity.

Currency: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XOF)

Source:; Guinea Bissau Profile; other.