The Republic of Ghana is a country in West Africa. It borders Cote d’Ivoire (Ivory Coast) to the west, Burkina Faso to the north, Togo to the east, and the Gulf of Guinea to the south.

Official Name: Republic of Ghana

Short Form: Ghana

Country Calling Code: +233

Capital City: Accra

Other Cities: Kumasi (1 million est.), Tema (500,000 est.), Sekondi-Takoradi (370,000 est.).

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 6 March 1957.

Nationality: Ghanaian(s).

Population: 24.2 million (2010 census)

Ethnic groups: Akan, Ewe, Ga, Moshi-Dagomba.

Religions: Christian 69%, Muslim 15%, traditional and indigenous beliefs 9%.

Languages: English (official), Akan (which includes Asante Twi, Akwapim Twi, Akyem, and Fanti) 49%, Mole-Dagbani 16%, Ewe 13%, Ga-Adangbe 8%, Guan 4%, others 10%.

Natural Resources: Gold, timber, diamonds, bauxite, manganese, fish.

Agriculture Products: Cocoa, rice, coffee, cassava (tapioca), peanuts, corn, shea nuts, bananas; timber

Industries: Mining, lumbering, light manufacturing, aluminum smelting, food processing, cement, small commercial ship building.

Currency: Cedi (GHC)

Source:; Ghana Profile; other.