The Gambia officially the Republic of The Gambia is a country in Western Africa. It is the smallest country on the African continental mainland and is bordered to the north, east, and south by Senegal, and has a small coast on the Atlantic Ocean in the west.

Official Name: Republic of The Gambia

Short form: The Gambia

Country Calling Code: +220

Capital City: Banjul (pop. 35 000, with suburbs 500 000)

Other Cities: Serrekunda (pop. 200 000), Basse Santa Su, Georgetown (Jangjang-bureh), Juffureh.

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 18 February 1965 (from the UK).

Nationality: Gambian(s).

Population: 1.7 million (2010 UN estimate).

Ethnic groups: Mandinka 40%, Fula 18%, Wolof 14%, Jola 10%, Serahule 9%, Serere  8%, Krio/Aku Marabout, Manjago, Bambara, Non-Gambians 13% of the population.

Religions: Muslim 85%, Christian 4%, Indigenous beliefs.

Languages: English (official), Mandinka, Wolof, Fula (Pulaar), Jola, other indigenous languages.

Natural Resources: Fish, titanium, tin, zircon, silica sand.

Agriculture Products: Peanuts, rice, millet, sorghum, fish, palm kernels, vegetables, livestock, forestry.

Industries: Peanut products, construction, telecommunications, brewing; tourism.

Currency: Dalasi (GMD)

Source:; Gambia Profile; other.