Ethiopia officially the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia is a landlocked country situated in the Horn of Africa. Ethiopia is bordered by Eritrea to the north, Sudan to the west, Kenya to the south, Somalia to the east and Djibouti to the north-east. Ethiopia is one of the oldest countries in the world and Africa’s second-most populous nation.

Official Name: Ityop’iya Federalawi Demokrasiyawi Ripeblik

Short form: Ityop’iya

Country Calling Code: +251

Capital: Addis Ababa (pop. 3 million)

Largest Cities: Dire Dawa (180,000), Harar (138,000), Dessie (105,000), Nazret (100,000), Bahir Dar (95,000), Awassa (90,000)

Government Type: Federal Democratic Republic

Nationality: Ethiopian(s)

Population: 84 millions (2012)

Ethnic Groups (est) Oromo 35%, Amhara 30%, Tigre 6%-8%, Somali 6%

Religions: Ethiopian Orthodox Christian 45%-50%, Muslim 40%, Protestant 5%, Indigenous beliefs.

Languages: Amharic (official), Afan Oromo, Tigrinya, Gurage, Somali, Arabic and about 80 other local languages. English (major foreign language taught in schools)

Natural Resources: Small reserves of gold, platinum, copper, potash, natural gas, hydropower.

Agriculture Products: Cereals, pulses, coffee, oilseed, sugarcane, potatoes, qat; hides, cattle, sheep, goats.

Industries: Food processing, beverages, textiles, chemicals, metals processing, cement.

Currency: Ethiopian Birr (ETB)

Source:; Ethiopia Profile; other.