Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea

The Republic of Equatorial Guinea is a country in Central Africa. It is one of the smallest countries in continental Africa, and comprises two regions: a Continental Region (Ro Muni); and an Insular Region containing Annobn island, Bioko island (formerly Fernando Po) where the capital of Malabo is situated, and several offshore islands like Corisco.

Official Name: República de Guinea Ecuatorial

International Form: Equatorial Guinea

Country Calling Code: +240

Capital City: Malabo

Other Cities: Luba, Bata, Ebebiyín, Rio Muni.

Government Type:Republic

Independence: 12 October 1968 (from Spain).

Nationality: Equatorial Guinean

Population: 700,000 (2011, UN estimate)

Ethnic Groups: Fang, Bubi, Annobonese, Ndowe, Kombe, and Bujebas.

Languages: Spanish, French (both official); Fang, Bubi, Igbo/Ibo.

Religion: Christian (93/%), Indigenous beliefs, Muslims, Baha’i.

Natural Resources: Petroleum, natural gas, timber, gold, bauxite, diamonds, tantalum.

Agriculture Products: Main–cocoa, timber; other: coffee, rice, yams, cassava (tapioca), bananas, palm oil nuts; livestock.

Industries: petroleum, natural gas, fishing, sawmilling.

Currency: CFA Franc (XAF)

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Equatorial Guinea Profile; other.