Djibouti officially the Republic of Djibouti is a country in the Horn of Africa. Djibouti is bordered by Eritrea in the north, Ethiopia in the west and south, and Somalia in the southeast. The remainder of the border is formed by the Red Sea and the Gulf of Aden. On the other side of the Red Sea, on the Arabian Peninsula, from the coast of Djibouti, is Yemen.

Official Name: République de Djibouti

Short Form: Djibouti

Country Calling Code: +253

Capital City: Djibouti

Other Cities: Dikhil, Arta, Ali-Sabieh, Obock, Tadjoura.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 27 June 1977 (from France).

Nationality: Djiboutian(s).

Population: 818,000 (2009 census)

Ethnic Groups: Somalis (Issaks, Issas, and Gadaboursis) 60%, Afars 35%, Ethiopians,Arab, French, and Italian.

Religions: Muslim 94%, Christian 6%.

Languages: French and Arabic (official); Somali and Afar widely used.

Natural Resources: Gold, clay, granite, marble, minerals (salt, perlite, gypsum, limestone), petroleum, geothermal areas.

Agriculture Products: livestock, fishing, fruits, vegetables.

Industries: Banking and insurance (12.5% of GDP), transportation (Djibouti harbour), tourism, construction, agricultural processing, salt.

Currency: Djiboutian Franc (DJF)

Source:; Djibouti Profile; other.