Democratic Republic of Congo

Democratic Republic of Congo

Democratic Republic of Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (French: Rpublique dmocratique du Congo), is a country in central Africa with a small length of Atlantic coastline. It is the third largest country (by area) in Africa. The name “Congo” refers to the river Congo, also known as the river Zaire. Though it is located in the Central African UN sub region, the nation is economically and regionally affiliated with Southern Africa as a member of the Southern African Development Community (SADC).

Official Name: République Démocratique du Congo

also in use: Congo Kinshasa, DR Congo

Country Calling Code:: +243

Capital City: Kinshasa (pop. 6.5 million)

Other Cities: Bandundu, Bukavu, Goma, Kananga, Kindu, Kisangani, Lubumbashi, Matadi, Mbandaka, Mbuji-Mayi.

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 30 June 1960 (from Belgium).

Nationality: Congolese

Population: 66 million (2011)

Ethnic Groups: More than 200 African ethnic groups; the Luba, Kongo, and Anamongo are some of the larger groupings of tribes.

Religions: Christianity 70%, other sects and Traditional beliefs 10%, Kimbanguist 10%, Muslim 10%.

Languages: French (Official). National languages: Lingala, Swahili, Kikongo, Tshiluba.

Natural Resources: Cobalt, copper, Columbite-tantalite (coltan) refined, coltan becomes tantalum, niobium, petroleum, industrial and gem diamonds, gold, silver, zinc, manganese, tin, uranium, coal, hydropower, timber.

Agriculture Products: Coffee, sugar, palm oil, rubber, tea, quinine, cassava (tapioca), palm oil, bananas, root crops, corn, fruits; wood products.

Industries: mining (diamonds, copper, zinc), mineral processing, consumer products (including textiles, footwear, cigarettes, processed foods and beverages), cement, commercial ship repair.

Currency: Congolese Franc (CDF)

Source:; DR Congo Profile; other.