Central African Republic

Central African Republic

Central African Republic

The Central African Republic is a landlocked country in Central Africa. It borders Chad in the north, Sudan in the east, the Republic of the Congo and the Democratic Republic of the Congo in the south, and Cameroon in the west.

Official Name: République Centrafricaine International form: Central African Republic

Country Calling Code: +236

Capital City: Bangui (pop. 700 000)

Other Cities: Berberati, Bouar, Bambari, Bangassou, Bossangoa, Mbaiki, and Carnot.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 13 August 1960 (from France).

Nationality: Central African(s).

Population: 5 million (2011 UN est.)

Ethnic Groups: More than 80; Baya 33%, Banda 27%, Sara 10%, Mandja 13%, Mboum 7%, M’baka 4%, Yakoma 4%, other 2%.

Religions: Protestant 25%, Roman Catholic 25%, Muslim 15%,Indigenous beliefs 35%.

Languages: French (official), Sangho (national).

Natural Resources: Diamonds, uranium, timber, gold, oil.

Agriculture Products: Timber, cotton, coffee, tobacco, foodcrops, livestock.

Industries: Diamond mining, sawmills, breweries, textiles.

Currency: Communaute Financiere Africaine franc (XAF)

Source: www.nationsonline.org/Africa; www.bbc.com/ Central African Republic Profile; other.