Cape Verde

Cabo Verde

Cabo Verde

The Republic of Cape Verde is a republic located on an archipelago in the Macaronesia ecoregion of the North Atlantic Ocean, off the western coast of Africa. The previously uninhabited islands were discovered and colonized by the Portuguese in the fifteenth century and attained independence in 1975.

Official Name: República de Cabo Verde Short form: Cabo Verde International short form: Cape Verde

Country Calling Code: +238

Capital City: Praia (pop. 100 000) on the island Sao Tiago (Santiago)

Other Cities: Mindelo (pop. 68 000)

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 5 July 1975 (from Portugal).

Nationality: Cape Verdean(s).

Population: 492,000 (2010 census)

Ethnic groups: Creole (mixed African and Portuguese), African, European.

Religions: Roman Catholic, Protestant.

Languages: Portuguese (official); Crioulo (a blend of Creole Portuguese and West African)

Natural Resources: Salt, pozzolana (tuff), limestone.

Agriculture Products: Bananas, corn, beans, sugarcane, coffee, fruits, vegetables, livestock products.

Industries: Fish and fish products, food and beverages, ship repair, furniture, metal products, tourism.

Currency: Cape Verdean Escudo (CVE)

Source:; Cape Verde Profile; other.