The Republic of Cameroon is a unitary republic of central and western Africa. It is bordered by Nigeria to the west; Chad to the northeast; the Central African Republic to the east; and Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo to the south. Cameroon’s coastline lies on the Bight of Bonny, part of the Gulf of Guinea and the Atlantic Ocean. The country is called “Africa in miniature” for its geological and cultural diversity.

Official Names:Republique du Cameroun (fr); Republic of Cameroon (eng)

Short form: Cameroun/Cameroon

Country Calling Code: +237

Capital City: Yaounde (pop. 1.1 million)

Other Cities: Douala, major seaport and commercial capital (1.3 million), Garoua  (424,312), Maroua (409,546), Bafoussam (319,457), Bamenda (321,490), Nkongsamba (166,262), and Ngaoundere (216,300).

Government Type: Republic

Independence: 1 January 1960 (for areas formerly ruled by France) and 1 October 1961 (for territory formerly ruled by Britain).

Nationality: Cameroonian(s); French noun and adjective–Camerounais(e).

Population: (2010): 19.4 million

Ethnic groups: About 250.

Religions: Christian 53%, Muslim 22%, Indigenous African 25%.

Languages: French and English (both official) and about 270 African languages and dialects, including pidgin, Fulfulde, and Ewondo.

Natural Resources: Oil, timber, hydroelectric power, natural gas, cobalt, nickel.

Agriculture Products: timber, coffee, tea, bananas, cocoa, rubber, palm oil, pineapples, cotton.

Industries: Petroleum production and refining, aluminum production, food processing, light consumer goods, textiles, lumber, ship repair

Currency: Communaute

Source:; Cameroon Profile; other.