Algeria officially the People’s Democratic Republic of Algeria is a country located in North Africa. It is the largest country of the Mediterranean sea, the second largest on the African continent and the eleventh-largest country in the world in terms of land area. It is bordered by Tunisia in the northeast, Libya in the east, Niger in the southeast, Mali and Mauritania in the southwest, Morocco in the northwest, and the Mediterranean Sea in the north.

Official Name: Al Jumhuriyah al Jaza’iriyah ad Dimuqratiyah ash Sha’biyah.

Short Form: Al- Jaza’ir

International Short Form: Algeria.

Country Calling Code: +213

Capital City: Algiers (pop. 3 000 000)

Principal Towns: Oran, Constantine, Annaba, Blida, Setif, Sidi be Abbes.

Government Type: Republic.

Independence: 5 July 1962 (from France).

Nationality: Algerian(s).

Population: 37 million (2012)

Ethnic Groups: Arab 83%, Berber 17%, Touareg, European less than 1%.

Religions: Sunni Muslim (state religion) 99%, Christian and Jewish 1%.

Languages: Arabic (official), French, Tamazight and other Berber dialects.

Natural Resources: Rich deposits of iron ore, phosphates, lead, zinc and antimony; deposits of petroleum and natural gas.

Agriculture Products: Wheat, barley, oats, grapes, olives, citrus, fruits; sheep, cattle.

Industries: Petroleum, natural gas, light industries, mining, electrical, petrochemical, food processing.

Currency: Algerian Dinar (DZD)

Source:; Algeria Profile; other.